Sin categoría

Claudia Gray Book Club Recap at The Bookmark!

By Mónica González



  Last Wednesday night, the folks at The Bookmark hosted their monthly book club, this time bringing back another previously featured author, the mastermind behind A Thousand Pieces of You, Claudia Gray. If you haven’t read her books and love sci-fi, you don’t know what you’re missing! This time around, we sat down to discuss and ask about her most recent installment of the Firebird series, Ten Thousand Skies Above You.


The discussion began with everyone fangirling (is that term even accepted nowadays with these modern gender equality rules? Maybe fanning? No, fanning just sounds like you’re going through heatstroke, I’ll keep on fangirling then) over the Russianverse and Lieutenant Paul Markov. Everyone agrees that it would be great to see some sort of spin-off story about what happens to the Grand Duchess Margarita after Marguerite’s consciousness leaves her body, or even what her thoughts are when she’s invaded by our Marguerite.


Regarding these thoughts, Gray indicated that there’s a chance that a novella like that could be done and she hopes to have time to write it sometime next year since 2015 has been a busy one for her because, in case you didn’t know, Gray had a chance to write the most recent star wars novel called Lost Stars: Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which was released last September by Disney LucasFilm Press.


Another aspect of the discussion was that everyone seemed to agree on the fact that it was great that we could see the repercussions of Marguerite’s actions and constant travels, her being the “perfect traveler” of her dimension. It was even stated by guests that Marguerite’s behavior could be described with the quote “the road to hell is paved with good intentions.”


  During the Q&A, Gray stated that if she “had to describe a theme for each book, the first one would be of the dark side of Theo, the second about the dark side of Paul, and the next one about the dark side of Marguerite.” At some point, there was also a very confusing revelation regarding the next book. When gray was asked if we would ever see Vladimir again and if Marguerite would keep her promise or break it and go back to the Russianverse once more, Gray said “The answers are yes and yes,” which implies we will be seeing more of the Russianverse.


One of the attendants asked if every Marguerite from every dimension that was visited by our Marguerite was receiving psychiatric treatment like the Grand Duchess, fact that was denied by Gray, explaining that since some of the other Marguerites live in universes where firebird technology might’ve not be in development but given that her parents are scientifically inclined in most, they would’ve managed to figure out what happened.


The idea for the ‘Firebird’ Series came to Gray when she was on a book tour with authors Dan Wells and Lauren Oliver when discussing about how they felt like they would wake up in different worlds (or countries) with the same people. Speaking of different worlds, Gray also stated that by the end of next book, which is to be released November 2017, Marguerite will have visited every continent on earth except Antarctica.


Did you enjoy the Q&A?


Do you have questions that have been left unanswered?


Let us know in the comments section below.


Remember you can get these and many more titles at The Bookmark!


Happy Reading!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s