Críticas/Sinopsis, HappyHalloWicked, Listicles, Movie Adaptations, Reviews, Special Events

Reading Outside my Comfort Zone for a change.

By Mónica González

(@TheLiteraryMomo)

Hello there fellow book addicts!

Have you ever felt like you’ve been reading, much of the same all the time? Whether it be Dystopian, contemporary, medieval, mystery; we all have this one genre we keep going back to over and over again. All the same, we all have at least one genre that we wouldn’t really tackle, not even if it presented itself as the softest cloud in the universe.

That said, after I realized this was something we all do, for this Halloween I decided to do something different and read something outside my comfort zone and tackle some horror.

My pick: Horns by Joe Hill

y450-293

So, why did I go with this cover instead of the original? Here’s a couple of reasons:

  • Number 1: the original cover kind of creeps me out.  Yes, I’m a softie, I like my happy endings and if those aren’t possible, I like “realistic within the storyline” endings. So, naturally, horror wouldn’t really be in my Gotta Read Them All choice of genres.
  • Number 2: My inner Potterhead would’ve thrown a fit if I picked any other version when I had the chance to have one with Daniel Radcliffe’s face on it.
  • Number 3: I promised myself to read it before watching the movie, and the cover reminding me of it was a motivation.

So, my experience with it was extraordinarily long for some reason.  The story was rather enjoyable, and I kept wanting to read more, even when college, work, and sometimes even health, got in the way.  I don’t even think it was the story itself or my busy schedules, it was those margins! The pages had some tiny, tiny margins that left barely any space inkless. Well, maybe I’m exaggerating, but it felt like those margins were smaller than usual, making it feel like a longer read than it actually was.

Content wise, It was an intriguing story with a “dirtier” language than what I’m used to reading, but hey, I don’t judge, every author has its style and Hill works it well. His writing was very controversial and, at the same time, it makes you think some more about life, death, good, evil, right and wrong.

Think about it, your entire life you’ve been told that God is good, the Devil is evil, that there’s no in-between and that you either do good and go to heaven or do bad and go to hell. Out of nowhere comes Hill and presents the most spiritual, honest, caring and loyal kid, who gets screwed over by life and ends up growing horns for no apparent reason. He’s still good, he might want revenge for the rape and murder of the love of his life, but he’s still good nonetheless.

In general, it was a great read although I felt like the explanation as to why everything happened was rather short and straightforward. don’t know if I’ll be reading much horror anytime soon but this was a pretty good start. Most of all, I’m really glad that I finally get to see the movie that, judging from the trailer, changes a lot from the original story, not necessarily in a bad way.  So, if you still haven’t seen the movie, or would like to know what changed, grab a copy and find out!

Remember, you can get these and many more titles at The Bookmark.

Happy Reading and HappyHalloWicked!

Leave a Reply

