Book Club PR, Críticas/Sinopsis, eventos, Reviews

Find a Piece of Your Heart in Jessi Kirby’s Newest Novel!

By Mónica González

(@TheLiteraryMomo)

17571215Quinn Sullivan’s world turned upside down after Trent’s accident.  It’s been 400 days after his passing and she’s still struggling to move on.  It feels like it was just yesterday when he shouted those two words that brought him into her life; “Hey!” and “Wait!” and gave her a sunflower.  After all of his organs were donated, thinking that it would help her move forward, Quinn decides to contact the recipients and meet them.  They all respond, all but the heart’s recipient.

After the constant struggle to find “Male, 19, CA,” the new owner of Trent’s heart, her search leads her to a beachside surf shop, and to Colton Thomas.  Colton isn’t all what she thought he’d be. He’s not helpless, or weak, or unhealthy, as she expected.  He’s a slim and healthy surfer working on his parent’s shop.  When they meet, she doesn’t tell him right away about who she is, or whose heart he carries.  Instead, the two will go on a journey where they could both change for the better, as long as she agrees to move forward from the heart that she kept for so long.

Okay, first off, I have to say; this book was epic and heart stopping, no pun intended.  For anyone who follows my Goodreads account, I have some explaining to do.  Yes, I gave this book a 3-star rating, and yes, I know that it doesn’t necessarily agree with my affectionate outbursts regarding this book, but there’s a reason for all this.  Originally, I thought the novel was going to have a different story, I thought the novel was going to have a different story, I thought the story was going to be about Quinn’s search for the heart’s recipient, not about how finding him would change her life.  I felt like the descriptions were somewhat misleading but it doesn’t take away from the fact that it was a good story.
4106087The other reason I took a star from it, was the fact that I felt like Colton should’ve known the truth at the beginning of the book; it would’ve been intriguing to see both Quinn and Colton debating whether they had real feelings for each other or if it was just Trent’s heart influencing them, but, then again, that’s just me.

In general, I loved the book, especially a very “critical” heart-pounding moment that almost killed me, and I’d love to read some more of Kirby’s work.

What about you? What did you think of the story? Did you go to Book Club last week? Let me know in the comments section below.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

