Book Club PR · Críticas/Sinopsis · Reccomendations · Reviews

Liar, Liar… This Book is on Fire!

By Mónica González

(@TheLiteraryMomo)

liars-inc-678x1024Liars, Inc. Paula Stokes’ most recent novel, was one that kept me glued to the story from beginning to end. It was a fast paced, follow the clues, try to guess what’s gonna happen next, then fail at it, just my kind of book!

This young adult psychological thriller follows the story of Max Cantrell, how he and his friends, football star and ladies man Preston DeWitt, and martial arts expert and half-Indian badass Parvati Amos, create an alibi company for extra cash plus the thrill of danger.  Unfortunately, as you may probably guess, nothing good can ever come from a lie, so when Preston goes missing and all clues lead to Max, the race is on to find out who the real killer is, before an innocent has to pay.

PaulaStokes1-332x500I have to admit something, even though I shouldn’t, I totally judge books by their covers… When I saw this one, I knew I had to have it. During last week’s book club, which you can read about here, author Paula Stokes revealed that the cover art was actually a photo that the editors at Harper found online and they had to wait for the photographer’s approval to use it.  I am really glad he did because that is one intriguing cover!

I loved the characters, they were very well developed.  I loved how Preston/Adam was such a conflicted soul with many layers to unfold, how Parvati was breaking almost every stereotype of what an Indian girl is supposed to be, and how Max, how has had sort of a rough life, would try to stay distant with everyone while, at the same time, would feel so much. Even while I did like most of the characters, I have to admit that, at some point, officer Gonzalez made me want to run to the nearest courthouse and change my last name.

My only concern regarding the story, was that I felt like the company had been running for a time too short to have such a large significance within the story, but then again, it might’ve been me not paying attention to actual dates and reading too fast because the book was that good. As for my Goodreads rating? I gave this book five well deserved stars.

This definitely won’t be my last Stokes book, although, I honestly don’t know what to expect since all of her books are so different from one another. But hey, there’s only one way to find out!

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “Liar, Liar… This Book is on Fire!

Leave a Reply

