Críticas/Sinopsis · Reccomendations

Attachments, It Broke Me Apart And Glued Me Back

By Mónica González

(@TheLiteraryMomo)

71ZlxOeCx4LMy first thought after I finished Attachments was that the book had broken me apart and glued me back together; the second one was this: “If all contemporary fiction books were like this one, I’d read more contemporary fiction books.”

When I was recommended Attachments, I wasn’t too excited about reading Rowell again. You see, I’d been exposed to all the Rainbow Rowell hype before actually reading her and, when I read Fangirl, I wasn’t really too impressed by her style.

Before I get an angry mob at my doorstep, allow me to explain. Each person has their own preferences when reading, some like more sci-fi, some like more fantasy, some like contemporary and, also, some like fan fiction. I’m not a big fan of it, I’ve never really gotten into it because I feel like I’m cheating on the author with someone else.

rainbow-rowell2
Rainbow Rowell

Also, in order to read any kind of fan fiction, I need to have read the original story beforehand. So, when I started Fangirl, I found myself skipping all of Cath and Wren’s FanFixx.net posts, especially every time Cath would read to Levi. The rest of the book, including the “Gemma T. Leslie non fan fiction” pages, were actually very enjoyable and believe me when I say I am eagerly awaiting Carry On, Rowell’s “fan fiction” companion to Fangirl, which should be coming out sometime in October.

Now, since I wasn’t planning on talking of Fangirl anyway, let’s get to the good stuff. Lincoln is the new guy working at The Courier, a local newspaper. He’s the new Information Technology (IT) security officer, which is a fancy name for “the guy who reads your naughty work emails.” Beth is a Film Critic and Journalist, while Jennifer is a Copy Editor. The two are constantly sending each other personal emails that keep getting flagged in the system and fall into Lincoln’s hands. He should report them, He knows he should, but he likes them too much to get them into trouble, even when he’s never seen them in person. When he starts to fall in love with Beth, he knows he has to stop reading their emails, she’s with someone else and starting a conversation with “Hey, you don’t know me but I’m the creep who reads your emails and I’m in love with you,” sounds more fit for a psychological thriller than a budding romance.

Be9rrqCCQAE-DnS
Lincoln & Beth

When Beth sees him and Nicknames him “My Cute Guy,” hope blooms within Lincoln; especially after realizing she’s probably just as much of a stalker as he is. The problem is, she’s still with her rock star boyfriend and he’s still the email peeping tom. Only time will tell if the two are meant to be, specially with the new millennium just around the corner; did I mention the book is set in 1999? Well, it is, and I loved every minute of it.

What a book! It’s actually a hilarious read, both Lincoln’s misadventures, as well as Beth and Jennifer’s emails cracked me up the whole time. It tackles all kinds of day-to-day situations as well as serious topics. Has very likable characters and it’s one of those stories you won’t be able to put down. Five, well deserved, stars to Rowell this time around.

Leave a Reply

