Sin categoría

Interview with Susan Dennard; Life, Books & Upcoming Releases.

By Mónica González

(@TheLiteraryMomo on Twitter)

Susan Dennard
Susan Dennard

Susan Dennard has had a very interesting life, from becoming a Marine Biologist and traveling the world, to living in Germany and publishing her Something Strange and Deadly trilogy. After agreeing to answer a couple of questions about her life, upcoming news and some hidden clues within her books, here’s what you need to know.

With the Truthwitch series publishing soon, as well as several other plans in store; Dennard has been pretty busy preparing for the release, which is set for next January.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

“Sweeping!” said Dennard after I asked her to describe the Truthwitch series in a single word. “That’s the best word I can come up with because I it captures the epic scope of the story,” she added.

Dennard also stated that her plans at the moment are to write at least four novels and a couple of spin-off short stories or companion novellas. Also, regarding recent events, Dennard isn’t sure if she’ll be attending the Book Expo America (BEA) expo next year, but given that it’ll be happening close to her home, in Chicago, she’s hoping she’ll be able to attend. Fingers crossed!

Dennard has been a person of multiple dreams. As a student, she went to college to become a writer, but later on opted for a more practical choice and ended up getting a Masters of Science Degree in Marine Biology; although, she still wrote as a hobby. Eventually, her boyfriend of French descent was offered a job in Germany. “He proposed; I said yes, and I decided to move with him, even though I spoke no German, knew absolutely no one, and wasn’t going to be anywhere near an ocean,” she explained. After the move, Dennard spent her time writing, on a trial period, to see if she could make it as a full time author. “Luckily for me, it panned out! I loved writing For Real,” she said. The experiences acquired during her time in graduate school “had given me [Dennard] the courage I needed to not fear failure! So, I wrote Something Strange & Deadly (SS&D) and sold it to HarperTeen a year and a half later,” she added.

Daniel Sheridan Inspiration.

Living with an engineer like “the Frenchman,” how she refers to her husband in the media, seemed to be an influence when it came to her debut story’s development. At first I thought he might’ve been part of the inspiration behind some of the locations of her second book, A Darkness Strange and Lovely, or even behind steampunk engineer Daniel Sheridan, one of the main characters of the SS&D series. Dennard explained she chose Paris for the location of her second book based on research and, even if he wasn’t the inspiration behind Daniel, or any of the scenery choices, “My husband did help me design all the spirit-hunter inventions,” she explained.

As for the choosing of fictional threats for SS&D, she opted for zombies because they terrified her. “ I knew if I was scared while writing, then I could (hopefully) scare the reader too!” Dennard explained. Upon asking about in which media branch would she like to see her stories come to life, she mentioned she “would love to see the SS&D series as a TV show! I think it’d be great as a CW series, no?”

Something Strange and Deadly Series
Something Strange and Deadly Series

I don’t know about you, but I definitely agree with her and I’d love to see a TV version of her books sometime soon. Is there anything you’d like to know about Susan Dennard that wasn’t mentioned here? How would you feel about a Something Strange and Deadly TV show? Let me know in the comment section below. Enjoy your Susan Saturday!

Leave a Reply

