Críticas/Sinopsis

Ugly Love: You Won’t Be Able to Put it Down

(Published on June 13th, 2015 at The Muses PR)

By: Mónica G. González Burgos

Editor: Lucía B. Santos

Colleen Hoover
Colleen Hoover

After months of having the rest of The Muses constantly telling me about how I absolutely needed to read this book, I eventually gave in. Let me tell you, it’s a good thing I did because I would’ve never imagined a book titled Ugly Love actually having the power to keep me at my seat for an entire night, unable to put it down. I sincerely apologize to Colleen Hoover for misjudging her writing capability because of a title and a book cover. The cover has the most misleading cover art EVER, but once you finish the book you’ll come to the conclusion that the art is referential to the story.

I just recently found myself creating a recommendation list for a family member and when I tried to explain Ugly Love to her, I realized it sounded a bit like Fifty Shades of Grey, despite their different writing styles. As I read the book, I was enthralled to find out what had happened to Miles to make him become what he was when he met Tate. I yearned to understand who Rachel was and why was she so important in Miles’ life. I craved to comprehend how, despite all that had happened to him, he managed to focus enough to fulfill his dreams. I desired to understand why was he so alone and what exactly did he feel towards Tate. I also wanted to know if what he felt towards her was powerful enough to overcome whatever he had lived through so many years before. If there’s anything I should say about this book it’s this: “There’s no Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) like Miles Archer’s PTSD.”

What puts this book on a much higher shelf than the rest in its category is that it’s well written; it focuses a lot more on character background and story development. It does have plenty of intimacy, but it has a lot more heart and a lot of true meaning behind all actions. If I had to give it a star rating, I’d say this story deserves 5 out of 5, on account of how no other book of this nature has ever made me cry like a baby. Well done Colleen Hoover, well done.

1 thought on “Ugly Love: You Won’t Be Able to Put it Down”

Leave a Reply

